The Board of Health of the Central Connecticut Health District recently welcomed new members. The Town of Wethersfield appointed John Aforismo and the Town of Newington appointed John Richter and Assunta (Cindy) Moynihan to 3 –year terms on the Board of Health.

The Board of Health also reappointed Charles Brown, Jr., to another three-year term as its Director of Health. Brown also serves as the Board’s Secretary-Treasurer as well as its chief executive officer.

The Health District is a regional public health agency serving the towns of Berlin, Newington, Rocky Hill and Wethersfield. It is governed by a 14-member board of health made up of its director of health, and 13 members appointed by its 4 member towns.  Board members serve staggered 3-year terms and can be reappointed. Except for the director of health, board members receive no compensation for their work.

Public health departments play a critical role in protecting and improving the health of people in the communities they serve. The Central Connecticut Health District provides a range of public health services aimed at assessing the health of people in its member towns and working with those communities to improve the public’s health; promoting healthy behaviors; preventing disease and injuries; ensuring access to safe food, air and water; and preventing communicable diseases through immunizations and other measures; investigating the outbreak of disease; and preparing for and responding to public health emergencies.

As its governing body, the Board of Health sets the overall direction for the Health District and the services it provides; develops public health policy; establishes and enforces public health regulations and ordinances; and provides oversight for the district’s budget and financial affairs. The Board also hires and appoints the director of health who serves a three-year term.

 CCHD BOH Nov. 2017 Web

Front Row Left to Right: Jerilyn Nagel, Judith Sartucci, Charles Brown, Marti Stiglich, Ann Marie Diloreto

Back Row  Left to Right: John Aforismo, Raymond Jarema, Patricia Checko, Michelle Sadlosky, Deborah Henault, John Richter, Assunta Moynihan

(Not Pictured: Carolyn Wysocki and Lia Safalow)